After a long blogging hiatus…


…I’m back, and now in Denver!  I’m the new librarian in the Girls Division at Regis Jesuit High School in Aurora, Colorado.  Life is good in the Rockies.  Chris and I were ready to leave NYC (It’s a fun place to work, but less fun to live in) when I stumbled across this incredible opportunity to move west.  Chris asked me to marry him in May and we’re planning to have the wedding back in New York, where most of our family is.  More on that in the next year!  We are loving Colorado.

My library is bigger, I have two wonderful library assistants, and the girls here are lovely.  It’s a little TOO perfect, to be frank.  I’ve stepped in at RJ so that two smart, capable librarians could retire.  Luckily we are still in contact, so I have a new support system.  Because these ladies were so effective, there’s a large group of teachers who are dedicated to the library and its curriculum.  I’ve already been able to collaborate with teachers of all disciplines except for science and math, which are still on my end-of-the-year goal list.  I’ll be posting some of my bigger projects on the blog over the next few months, so keep an eye out!

Keep up with RJHS library news on Twitter @RJHSLibraries and here on the FromBirnamWood blog.  Ironically, as I type, an English teacher is teaching Macbeth to a class of ninth graders. I thought it was a good time to stop couch surfing my writing and get the ball rolling again.

Check out this view from my library window.  It doesn’t get much better than that.

FullSizeRender

Leave a Reply

